Stage 8: Original Time Trial

Stage 3’s Original Time Trial returned for its second round this week and gave many riders the opportunity for personal record points (+3 points). Let’s see how the race unfolded.

In the men’s A race, Peak Vancouver’s Jay Menning showed everyone just how versatile of a rider he is. First the Hilly Stage, then the Sprint Stage and now the Original Time Trial – he certainly is a talented rider. His winning time of 37:28 (PR) wasn’t as emphatic as other weeks though! Peak Ottawa’s Mark Sherboneau was hot on his wheels with a time of 37:37 (PR), his best outing since his Stage 5 victory. Overall series leader Chris Carr (The Cycle Studio) rounded up the top 3 in 38:08 (PR). In 4th place was one of the most consistent top 5-ers in the series – Peak Ottawa’s Bob Cimon (38:27 (PR) and looking for his first podium finish since Stage 2). Peak Vancouver’s Rob McLachlan concluded the top five with 38:29 (PR).

On the men’s B side, The Cycle Studio’s Scott Moon finished an unbelievable 7th place overall in a huge time of 39:19 (PR)! His win wasn’t too large though, as Peak Ottawa’s Paul Heffler pulled off the largest personal record of them all with a 10 minute beating of his previous time (39:37, he must have put a motor in his wheel…)! Third place was Natural High’s Dan Giberson in 41:11, fourth was series new comer Ryan Gilchrist (Peak Ottawa, 41:26) and rounding the top five was Andre Smith (Peak Ottawa, 41:28), also new to the series.

In the men’s A GC standings, Chris Carr continues his lead with 126 points, 14 points ahead of Mark Sherboneau (112 points) and 16 points ahead of Jay Menning (110 points). Ryan Krauss sneaks over 100 points this week with 101 points and Bob Cimon completes the current top five with 87 points.

The men’s B GC competition sees Paul Heffler (129 points) extend his lead from Dan Giberson (120 points), while Scott Moon is catching up fast after missing the first stage (119 points). Glen Budgell (Peak Ottawa) is close to the coveted 100 point milestone with 96 points and team mate Darrin Grace lies in fifth place with 80 points.

In the women’s race, Calah Wright (Peak Ottawa, 39:57) has finally taken her first stage win over Laura Aykroyd (The Cycle Studio, 40:20)! After Stage 5’s 0.6 second defeat, Calah showed everyone that she was capable of a win with a huge PR. Third place was current KOM leader Janet Dukowski (Peak Vancouver) in a 4 second PR of 40:55, fourth place was The Cycle Studio’s Daisy Brey (42:24) and fifth place was Laurie Gorman of Peak Ottawa (43:09, PR).

The women’s GC standings has a new leader! Calah Wright’s stage win and bonus personal best points have put her 2 points ahead of Laura Aykroyd (119 vs. 117 points). Janet Dukowski sits just behind in 116 points to make the top three divided by just 3 points! Come on ladies, you’re making the men’s classification look boring! Fourth place is currently shared by Carol Deavy (Peak Ottawa) and Laurie Gorman each with 75 points.

So many personal records show what a great job everyone is doing. Keep up the hard training and we’ll see you here again next week!

This entry was posted in Racing Series Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.